Friday, January 29, 2016

Nominations Open for the Richard Lane/Robert Holden Patient Advocacy

National Alliance for Medication Assisted Recovery
Press Release

Contact Persons: 
Joycelyn Woods, Executive Director, Acting President
Phone/Fax: 1.212.595.NAMA  (1-212-595-62620)

For Release
January 29, 2016

Nominations Open for the
Richard Lane/Robert Holden Patient Advocacy Award

Richard Lane was a long-term heroin user who, upon release from prison in 1967, was  instrumental in establishing one of the Nation’s first methadone treatment programs. In  1974, he became the Executive Director of Man Alive and later served as Vice President  of the American Methadone Treatment Association (now AATOD) and as Vice  Chairman of the Governor’s Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse in Maryland.  Mr. Lane  was a passionate advocate for methadone treatment and, by disclosing his own treatment  experiences, provided inspiration to patients and colleagues alike.   

Robert Holden was also a recovering heroin user, who later became the Director of  PIDARC, an outpatient methadone treatment program in the District of Columbia.  He  was a friend of Richard Lane and succeeded Richard Lane’s term of office as the Vice  President of the American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence.  This  award was established in 1995 and recognizes extraordinary achievements in patient  advocacy.   

The following criteria should be applied in making your selection:             

·        Only one (1) nominee can be submitted to the Conference Awards Committee. There may be a number of nominees however only one (1) “consensus” nominee may receive this honor.             

·        The nominee must have been involved in the field of methadone advocacy for a period of five (5) years.

·        The nominee must have made meaningful and consistent contributions, which have had a significant impact on opioid treatment within a state or region of the United States. 

·        For each nominee a Nomination Form must be completed and submitted with two (2) Letters of Support. The Nomination Form is attached to this announcement and can also be downloaded from the NAMA Recovery website     

NAMA Recovery will be responsible for collecting all the submissions for nomination and selecting a committee of advocates that will decide on the final candidate.  The  Candidate’s Name, Nomination Form and at least two (2) Letters of Support describing  the nominee’s achievements will be submitted to the AATOD Conference Awards  Committee for the final approval. 

The deadline for Submissions is February 26, 2016.  The completed Nomination Form along with at least two (2) Letters of Support should be sent to Joycelyn Woods at                                          
        Previous Winners of the Award

   1995, Arizona              Richard Lane                                
   2001, St. Louis            Joycelyn Woods                                
   2007, San Diego          Anthony Scro                                
   2009, New York          Walter Ginter                                
   2010, Chicago              Lisa Mojer Torres                                
   2012, Las Vegas          Roxanne Baker   
   2013, Philadelphia       Ira Marion
   2015, Atlanta               Claude Hopkins

This Award will be bestowed upon the recipient during the Awards Banquet Ceremony  on November 1, 2016 during AATOD’s next National Conference which will convene  at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront.   

The recipient will be provided with a roundtrip Coach Class airfare, up to  two (2) nights in the hotel and Conference Registration.   
Deadline:           February 26, 2016

Email Nominations To: 
Joycelyn Woods

If you have any questions about the award contact Joycelyn Woods at or by telephone at 917-846-9983

Download Press Release
Download Forms in Word
Download Form in PDF