Saturday, July 29, 2017

Nominations Open for the Richard Lane/Robert Holden Patient Advocacy Award

National Alliance for Medication Assisted Recovery
Press Release

Contacts Persons: 
Carmen Pearman-Arlt, President, 
Joycelyn Woods, Executive Director,
Phone/Fax: 1.212.595.NAMA  (1-212-595-62620)

For Release
July 30, 2017

Richard Lane was a long-term heroin user who, upon release from prison in 1967, was instrumental in establishing one of the Nation’s first methadone treatment programs. In 1974, he became the Executive Director of Man Alive and later served as Vice President of the American Methadone Treatment Association (now AATOD) and as Vice Chairman of the Governor’s Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse in Maryland.  Mr. Lane was a passionate advocate for methadone treatment and, by disclosing his own treatment experiences, provided inspiration to patients and colleagues alike.   

Robert Holden was also a recovering heroin user, who later became the Director of PIDARC, an outpatient methadone treatment program in the District of Columbia.  He was a friend of Richard Lane and succeeded Richard Lane’s term of office as the Vice President of the American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence.  This award was established in 1995 and recognizes extraordinary achievements in patient advocacy.   

The following criteria should be applied in making your selection:             

·        Only one (1) nominee can be submitted to the Conference Awards Committee. There may be a number of nominees however only one (1) “consensus” nominee may receive this honor.             

·        The nominee must have been involved in the field of methadone advocacy for a period of five (5) years.

·        The nominee must have made meaningful and consistent contributions, which have had a significant impact on opioid treatment within a state or region of the United States. 

·         For each nominee a Nomination Form must be completed and submitted with two (2) Letters of Support. The Nomination Form is attached to this announcement and can also be downloaded from the NAMA Recovery website   

NAMA Recovery will be responsible for collecting all the submissions for nomination and selecting a committee of advocates that will decide on the final candidate.  The Candidate’s Name, Nomination Form and at least two (2) Letters of Support describing the nominee’s achievements will be submitted to the AATOD Conference Awards Committee for the final approval. 

The deadline for Submissions is February 26, 2016.  The completed Nomination Form along with at least two (2) Letters of Support should be sent to Joycelyn Woods at                                          

Previous Winners of the Award

        1995, Arizona                        Richard Lane
        2001, St. Louis                      Joycelyn Woods 
        2007, San Diego                    Anthony Scro 
        2009, New York                     Walter Ginter 
        2010, Chicago                        Lisa Mojer Torres 
        2012, Las Vegas                     Roxanne Baker 
        2013, Philadelphia                  Ira Marion
        2015, Atlanta                         Claude Hopkins
        2016, Baltimore                      Brenda Davis

This Award will be bestowed upon the recipient during the Awards Banquet Ceremony  on Monday, March 12, 2018 during AATOD’s next National Conference which will convene  at the New York Marriott Marquis located in the heart of Times Square.   

The recipient will be provided with a roundtrip Coach Class airfare, up to  two (2) nights in the hotel and Conference Registration.   

Deadline:           September 1, 2017

Email Nominations To: Joycelyn Woods

If you have any questions about the award contact Joycelyn Woods at or by telephone at 917-846-9983

Download the Submission Forms 
Download the Press Release